Rabies Fact Sheet
Animal Licenses

The New Jersey Administrative Code Title 8, Chapter 23 A specifies the requirements for
the rabies vaccination needed for issuing animal licenses. No animal license can be
issued for any given year unless the animal’s vaccination is valid throughout at least ten
of the twelve months of the licensing period. In the Borough of Rocky Hill, licenses are
issued on a calendar year basis so that vaccination documentation must say that the
animal’s immunity is valid through at least November 1.

The following was excerpted from the New Jersey Administrative Code on April 20,
2009 for your information. As with all items on the website, we request that you contact
our Borough Clerk for the most up-to-date information.

§ 8:23A-4.1 Requirements for licensure

a) Except as otherwise provided in 8:23A-4.3, no municipal clerk or other official
designated to license dogs shall grant any such license and official metal
registration tag for any dog unless the dog owner provides evidence that the dog
to be licensed and registered has been inoculated against rabies with a vaccine
having duration of immunity which extends throughout at least ten of the 12
months of the licensing period. Dogs with a duration of immunity against rabies
that expires prior to the tenth month of the licensing period shall be revaccinated
prior to issuance of a license.

b) The rabies inoculation required in (a) above shall be made by a duly licensed
veterinarian. The vaccine used must be approved by the United States Department
of Agriculture and administered to the animal at the dosage and route of
administration in accordance with the specifications of the product label and
package insert.

c) The veterinarian immunizing the animal shall issue and sign a National
Association of State Public Health Veterinarians Form #51, "Rabies Vaccination
Certificate," and shall arrange that the following information is typed or printed
on the rabies certificate: the date of inoculation, the duration of immunity, the
name and serial number of the product used, a description of the animal, the name
and license number of the veterinarian, and the full mailing address of the owner.
Computer-generated forms containing the same information, signature stamps,
and electronic signatures are acceptable. The animal owner shall retain the
certificate of inoculation and exhibit it to the animal licensing official of the
municipality when application for a license is made.




§ 8:23A-4.3 Certification of exemption

Municipal dog licensing officials shall grant an exemption to the rabies inoculation
requirement for any dog that a duly licensed veterinarian certifies in writing to be
incapable of being inoculated because of an infirmity, other physical condition, or
regimen of therapy.

§ 8:23A-5.1 Violation; penalty

Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 4:19-15.19, and except as otherwise provided in that law, any person
who violates or who fails or refuses to comply with this chapter shall be liable to a
penalty of not less than $ 5.00 nor more than $ 50.00 for each offense, to be recovered by
and in the name of the Commissioner of the Department, the local board of health of the
municipality, or the municipality.



